Any Central Missouri Officers? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Any Central Missouri Officers?

DVeng
12-09-2011, 08:36
I am looking for some information from officers in the central Missouri area. An opportunity has arisen for my family to move to that part of the country which would mean that I would be looking for a new LE position. (I am currently a reserve officer in another state, but intend to go full-time as quickly as possible after moving if we do take this opportunity)

I would like to get a sense for the different departments in that area from someone who knows them. From publicly available information, Columbia PD looks very attractive. However, I am also looking at the Callaway County, Boone County, Jefferson City, etc. Does anyone have any information about morale among rank and file officers in any of those agencies or other agencies in the area?

From what I can tell, Missouri's hiring process is very different from my current state's. Can anyone provide any guidance on how it usually works? I have been researching online, but would appreciate a more informed view on it as well.

PMs welcome if you'd rather not post publicly on it.

Thanks,
DVeng

Detectorist
12-09-2011, 12:04
I think JBaird posts here is up in that area. Don't know if I spelled his handle correctly.

shootindave
12-09-2011, 19:29
You will have to go through an academy. If you can get hired by a dept and they pay for you to go through the academy you should feel lucky with those smaller depts.

Also, I believe the MO Highway Patrol are hiring for specific troops now..... so you might look into them as well. A lot of perks working for them vesus a small dept IMHO.

If you run into any specific questions just PM me.

Dave

Hack
12-09-2011, 22:34
I'm a Missouri Native. Jefferson City used to be pretty good to work for. I know a fellow who used to work in law enforcement for my agency as well who has experience from there, but he doesn't post on here.