I'm So Angry with You People [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : I'm So Angry with You People

eaglefrq
12-10-2011, 19:12
Why didn't someone tell me AR's were so much fun to shoot before now! :wavey:

I picked up a Stag Arms Model 1 and got to the range for the first time today. Talk about a blast!

I do have a couple of questions though. I replaced the rear sight (carry handle) with a flip up and added a red-dot scope. I got the scope dialed in fairly quickly, but I'm having problems with the iron sights. It seems like I was all over the target.

I set the front sight to zero mechanical and then started the process. It seemed like I was making progress, but I still wasn't getting consistent groups. This is my first time with the peep sights, so that may have something to with it.

Does anyone have any suggestions? Or is it just going to take practice?

Eurodriver
12-10-2011, 19:21
The front sight should be crisp and in focus. Ignore the rear sight and place the front sight in the same spot on the target every time. (The target should be out of focus as well)

Are you doing that?

craig19
12-10-2011, 19:34
ARs are a blast, congrats!

eaglefrq
12-10-2011, 20:20
The front sight should be crisp and in focus. Ignore the rear sight and place the front sight in the same spot on the target every time. (The target should be out of focus as well)

Are you doing that?

Yes, the front sight was crisp. After some initial shooting, I looked online and found some pictures of how to line everything up. Once I saw what a peep sight picture looked like, I saw some of the things I was doing wrong.

I just need to practice some more, which unfortunately won't be until this weekend.

MrMurphy
12-10-2011, 20:32
Front sight controls elevation. Rear sight controls windage.

You shouldn't need to move your front much for zero.

MAJINKONG
12-11-2011, 02:19
You have now a Black Rifle disease.

faawrenchbndr
12-11-2011, 05:35
Just wait until you start building them,........