Increased power firing pin spring for full power loads? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Increased power firing pin spring for full power loads?

Bigwatts66
12-13-2011, 09:04
I have been reading that you need an increased firing pin spring as well as recoil spring when firing full power 10mm ammo. As a 10mm novice, i was wondering why is this necessary?:dunno:

rcd567
12-13-2011, 09:30
It's not. I've fired real 10mm loads in both my Glock and S&W 1066 with stock springs, both recoil and firing pin without incident.

Taterhead
12-13-2011, 09:46
I agree. Id do have a Wolff 22# non-captured spring setup, but I use it less frequently than I used to -it even for warm stuff. The stock spring is 100% and handles better for most loads.

As far as striker springs, I would think that the only reason for an upgrade is if you are not getting consistent primer ignition. I can't think of how load strength would matter in that regard. I do have a replacement striker spring that I will eventually put in after the stock spring wears out.

dryfly
12-13-2011, 10:13
I went back to stock RSA after experimenting with diff loads...
The hottest load I have fired stock has been the Buffalo Bore 180grain JHP...1330 fps...no problems issues or worries. No issues with Swamp Fox 200grain xtps at 1240 fps either....

JimIsland
12-13-2011, 10:17
Depends if you have a Gen 2 or Gen 3. I recently shot some DT ammo out of my Gen 2 and got very lucky it didn't kaboom. If you have a gen 2 proceed with caution. My understanding is that some of them(not all) have very bad chamber support.

I believe I have a ammo issue but it was amplified by the lack of support and/or weak recoil spring. How old is your gun and how many rounds are through it?

Edit: I see you have a Gen3 G29..nevermind

Bigwatts66
12-13-2011, 15:27