Can't shoot my 642 [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Can't shoot my 642

benji
12-27-2011, 15:50
I'm no pro with any of my guns but my 642 makes me look even worse. It seems like when I take a good grip and point the gun that it is pointing way higher than with any of my Glocks or other pistols I've shot. Is there something that I'm doing wrong or is the grip angle just that much different? I'm considering getting a LCP or something else that points better naturally for me than this 642. The bad angle plus the super heavy trigger makes me terrible with this gun...

Leigh
12-27-2011, 15:58
Welcome to "Snubbies 101" and it's probably not "you."

Short sight radius and near non-existent sights on most, lightweight frame on many, 12+ pound DA on some, and reduced gripping surface on a lot. Need I say more?

The very few folks I know who have truly "mastered" the little 5-shot, 2 inch 38/357 revolver have put many, many hours of practice and training into them. There are no shortcuts.

Funny how many armchair idiots over the years have recommended them to women based solely on their size/weight.

benji
12-27-2011, 16:01
Funny how many armchair idiots over the years have recommended them to women based solely on their size/weight.

"Idiots" might not be a strong enough word. My 642 is a beast to shoot I can't imagine my wife ever enjoying it.

Leigh
12-27-2011, 16:30
I've carried a an Airweight Bodyguard (model 638 in .38 Special) for 10+ years and I am happy with consistent "minute of grapfruit" groups at 21 feet.

While +P rated, I would argue that reliable ans consistent expansion from a 1 7/8 inch barrel to be sometimes debateable 9and possibly overrated).

With practice, I can unload (accurately) a cylinder of five plain old lead 158 grain SWC (non +P) much quicker than many who are using the same lightweight J-frame with +P JHP rounds.

Whatever the platform it ALL comes down to practice, practice, and a lot more practice. Always has and always will.