Wanting to reload 45 GAP rounds need some help [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Wanting to reload 45 GAP rounds need some help

Outer Rondacker
12-30-2011, 06:59
Hi I am new to Glock Talk. I have read many of the posts here and spend a large amount of time reading befor I decided to join up. I am looking to reload 45 GAP rounds and there does not seam to much info out there. If anyone has experience doing this round I would like some advice. Keep in mind I am new to reloading in general. I have found a RCBS Rock Chucker press with powder chager, scale and a few sets of dies. 45 long colt 357, and a bunch of other things for 120 bucks. Not sure if I should do this or get a new one but I figured keep it cheap at first and see if I even like doing this. The rounds would be shot out of a Glock 37. If you are reloading this round and would not mind tossing some info this way to help a newb out that would be great. Thanks in advance.

IndyGunFreak
12-30-2011, 07:06
Assuming all that stuff is RCBS, and is in pretty good shape, that's a pretty good deal. The RCBS Rock Chucker is generally considered one of the better single stage presses. On a single stage, once you're in the groove, you'll probably do about 75-100rds an hour. So the other question is, how much do you shoot? (keep in mind, you'll shoot more once you start reloading)...

You might consider reading Colorado4Wheel's sticky and see if you can glean some info from there..

Good luck

Hoser
12-30-2011, 08:56
It is an easy caliber to reload.

Stick with 185-200 gn bullets. Jacketed if you can afford it.

ron59
12-30-2011, 09:00
Reloading it won't be any different that reloading any of the other pistol caliber stuff. Same exact process. All you'll need to determine is the bullet choice, then an appropriate powder and load. I'd advise going with a powder that fills the case as much as possible while you're learning.

meleors
12-30-2011, 09:50
I am looking to reload 45 GAP rounds