Question About Case Length/Trimming [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Question About Case Length/Trimming

Dr.Midnight
12-30-2011, 11:29
I'm new to the world of reloading and have come across a subject I would like clarification on. I've read through a couple of manuals, but neither seemed to touch on this exact topic.

I want to reload for 38 special, and I was able to get my hands on some once fired brass. I've been through every case and discarded the questionable ones and each has been measured. The longest case in the lot is 1.144" and the shortest is 1.138". These measurements are well within the specs for that caliber. My question is do I need to trim each case to the exact same measurement, or is the difference in case length in my batch acceptable for reloading. Thanks in advance for the help.

GioaJack
12-30-2011, 11:33
Over the years I've loaded at least a million .38 rounds, both privately and for commercial use, have NEVER trimmed one of them. Perhaps I'm doing it wrong.

(Same goes for .45 ACP, 9MM, etc.)

Jack

F106 Fan
12-30-2011, 11:36
It would be unusual to trim pistol cases. I suppose if you wanted absolutely uniform rolled crimps it might be something to look at but 0.006" just doesn't seem like a very big number.

I don't know what kind of loads you are making but I tend to taper crimp my pistol bullets. That is clearly the way to do it for .45 ACP, .40 S&W and 9mm but I also taper crimp my .38 148 gr LHBWC's. Or, rather, I just close up the mouth; there isn't any crimp involved in any of these cartridges.

Maybe somebody will have a different view if they load hot .38s.

Richard

Dr.Midnight
12-30-2011, 11:44
It would be unusual to trim pistol cases. I suppose if you wanted absolutely uniform rolled crimps it might be something to look at but 0.006" just doesn't seem like a very big number.