LRN bullets in a G19 [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : LRN bullets in a G19

TomB985
01-04-2012, 09:28
Hey everyone,

I'm very new to reloading and thus far have reloaded around 190rounds and have fired about 90 of them. The gun hasn't blown up yet, so I figure I'm either doing something right or just being lucky!

From the other thread:
I like my G19, and even more than that I like my fingers and my eyes. When I started reloading on Christmas day I was using LRN bullets with the near-minimum of 4.5 grains of Unique. I screwed up the OAL by the dumb thinking that the factory Blazer FMJ rounds would have the same OAL as the 115 grn. Whoops...the 5 rounds that I made wouldn't chamber. 10 minutes with my bullet puller rectified that and I learned something important. An hour and a half after that I had another five rounds that I test fired and had good results with. I'm now using 4.8 grains of Unique and am happy with the performance at this point and have no desire to increase to higher loads at this time, because as I stated before I like my gun, my fingers, and my eyesight. To date I have loaded and fired around 150(this is wrong, see above) rounds and this has taken me me close to 15 hours, and as a newbie I couldn't imagine taking any less time to learn such a precise art.

I mentioned in THIS THREAD (http://www.glocktalk.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1391628) that I was shooting LRN bullets out of my G19, and it was brought to my attention that shooting these type of bullets out of a Glock can be a bad thing.

I hadn't heard this before, and I originally assumed that was because of the short OAL required due to the shape of the bullet. I'm seating to around 1.072 s they will chamber, and from what I can find online about this type of bullet this is a safe thing to do.

So what is it about polygonal rifling that makes it inadvisable to shoot lead? Just curious....

THANKS!

XDRoX
01-04-2012, 10:12