Dillon Case Trimmer [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Dillon Case Trimmer


EL_NinO619
01-05-2012, 18:47
Do you still have to chamfer and deburr. I want to set one up on one of my LnL's. So I am wondering will I still need my RCBS trimmate

Boxerglocker
01-05-2012, 19:03
To load Horandy 55g FMJBT's W/C the Dillon RT1200B cuts so smooth all I need to do is tumble in dry corncob with no polish to remove the sizing lube (HOS) and any minor burrs, that is it. When loading heavier flat base bullets like Sierra 69g MK's, I chamfer ever so slightly with a VLD chamfer bit on my HORANDY case prep assistant prior to tumbling the lube off then loading.
If you search on BE there is a thread or two that have pics of trimmed cases.

EL_NinO619
01-05-2012, 19:11
I got the dies, is this everything I need.

https://www.grafs.com/retail/cart/index/history/1/orderId/1073514/productId/5984 (https://www.grafs.com/cart/receipt/history/1/orderId/1073514)

Boxerglocker
01-05-2012, 19:22
On my XL650, I run my Dillon sizing die at station 1 (decap and size).... then the RT1200B sizing die and trimming die "matched" so not to rework the brass at station 4. I use a Dillon case gauge to check for the correct shoulder setback and trim length. I trim to 1.750 +/- 0.003
After tumbling I run my second "loading" toolhead with a Lee universal decapper to push any media out that may be stuck in the primer flash holes, then powder drop, seat and a very slight crimp on the 55g and none on the heavy bullets.
I do not sort brass for my TAC 55g practice / tactical rifle match loads, but do for the heavy bullets as I usually only load a couple hundred of those at a time for precision fun shooting and busting clays with the guys at the range after public closing times.

You linky no worky for me :dunno:

EL_NinO619
01-05-2012, 19:24
https://www.grafs.com/retail/catalog/product/history/1/orderId/1073514/productId/3094

I got the .223 and .308 rapid trim die, so you size in station one and them trim in station 2.. post the link of you prepping..

Boxerglocker
01-05-2012, 19:40
https://www.grafs.com/retail/catalog/product/history/1/orderId/1073514/productId/3094

I got the .223 and .308 rapid trim die, so you size in station one and them trim in station 2.. post the link of you prepping..

I decap and full length size in the first station then run it through the rapid trim die in the 4th. The rapid trim die sizes as well so if you wanted to, you could just decap in station 1 and then actually size and trim at the same station. From what I read in research, especially tips from jmorris my current method is best as you don't "strain" the rapid trim die causing greater variances in case length if you already sized beforehand.

Boxerglocker
01-05-2012, 19:42
Not my actual machine but same set-up

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/7dUI9Zx96oA" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

EL_NinO619
01-05-2012, 20:17
Have you tried .308 yet.

EL_NinO619
01-05-2012, 20:51
I cannot not remember how to embed videos so here. My question is, this guy is using a lube die, I have had zero success with the RCBS lube die seeing it does not lube the case mouth. So do you just run HOS or what. Also sizing twice and over working brass, or over working motor. How long do these motors last?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Snp6C7dbV3E

Boxerglocker
01-05-2012, 21:11
Have you tried .308 yet.

I cannot not remember how to embed videos so here. My question is, this guy is using a lube die, I have had zero success with the RCBS lube die seeing it does not lube the case mouth. So do you just run HOS or what. Also sizing twice and over working brass, or over working motor. How long do these motors last?


<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/Snp6C7dbV3E" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

I haven't loaded .308 for myself yet, but have loaned my trimmer to a buddy that bought the .308 die and set it up. He was hurting for cash and bought me a spare carbide blade in return. He has since bought his own.

I would forget about the lube die, haven't tried it myself but doesn't seem worth the trouble I've heard people have had with it. All I use now is HOS, give it a slightly more liberal spray. Either way you have to tumble it off so, spray and dump is easier to me. I clean the casefeeder bowl out with a diluted spray and wipe of simple green every once in a while. No biggie.

You aren't over working the brass at all, your initial size at the first station when you decap is withing case gauge specs. The sizing/trim die is merely mirroring the initial size. It take a bit to get it just right, where your just off the shoulder barely touching. The trim length is set by adjusting the motor height. You don't over work the motor at all, it gets hot though, I left the motor rest for 5 minutes between batches of 500 cases have a small shop fan blowing on it. I only do this cause of threads I've read where you can get slightly greater case length variances if you let the motor run too long at a time. Honestly I haven't seen it and using mixed brass for the majority of 55g loads I do, it is of no consequence. I've read and talked to Guys that have had the motor run for years and tens of thousands of rounds. The brushes are replaceable, like the cutter blades.

Honestly brother to me it's the best spent cash on any piece of reloading equipment I have purchased. I'm shooting 500 rounds of .223 every week and other than the swaging it's easy peasy.... my next press will be a RL1050 set-up for .223 to eliminate the slow swaging issue and having the primer seating down stroke. :supergrin:

EL_NinO619
01-05-2012, 21:36
Ya 1050 be nice huh. I think XD will start loading .223 now ( that is if he is to borrow the trimmer.) I figured that lube die was a piece of poo, I bought one awhile ago for .308. First case stuck, thought I did not have enough lube, 2nd case stuck and so on. Open the instructions and realized there is nothing lubing the throat WTF.. I am defently looking forwards to it getting here, ordered from Grafs so by Wednesday next week it should be here. For me I lean a little towards rifle shooting, so for awhile now I have been lying to my self saying trimming not that bad, I have a pretty good system with the drill press, but being able to size and trim in one motion basically, Golden... Post a video on your youtube, on the stations setup etc... There is a few vids out there but not really.. Thanks for the help.

Boxerglocker
01-05-2012, 21:56
No worries man, your welcome, drop me a line if need more help with set-up. I have a couple good leads for replacement brushes and carbide cutter at over half off what Dillon sells them for. I would expect the brushes to last 30-40K rounds if you do as I do and don't overheat it.
When you get the motor first thing to do is bore a couple of 1/2 holes in the vacuum shroud it help increase airflow for better cooling.
I'll get a video together one of these day and post it for all to see.

Hoser
01-05-2012, 22:09
Do you still have to chamfer and deburr. I want to set one up on one of my LnL's. So I am wondering will I still need my RCBS trimmate

You dont have to as the trimmer is spinning at 4,000 RPM and it makes for a very clean cut.

For my match brass I run them through my 1050 with trimmer, clean them up on a Giraud trimmer and then load them.

But most of the time I dont bother trimming them. Just load and go.

EL_NinO619
01-05-2012, 22:15
Can you post a pic of the vacuum shroud and where you opened it up.. Thanks

Also my brother and me are working on getting a 650 off this guy who won it and some show or something, he does not reload..... What a waste of a 650

Boxerglocker
01-08-2012, 12:42
You dont have to as the trimmer is spinning at 4,000 RPM and it makes for a very clean cut.

For my match brass I run them through my 1050 with trimmer, clean them up on a Giraud trimmer and then load them.

But most of the time I dont bother trimming them. Just load and go.

Hey Hozer, I thought it was you I saw on a thread somewhere that was loading .300BLK on a XL650 using a modified toolhead. Do you have any specifics on how to accomplish that? Where to buy the machined toolhead?

EL_NinO619
01-08-2012, 13:05
Someones going .300blk....

Boxerglocker
01-08-2012, 15:57
Someones going .300blk....

:supergrin: Oh Yeah, that's the next evolution for me...suppressed .300 Blk.

Need to figure out and learn how to get the brass processed first, then buy/build an upper to develop loads with pinned 14.5 inch barrel... then fork out for a can.

I only wish that I could do a SBR but it's a no-no in Washington though:crying:

Hoser
01-08-2012, 17:54
Hey Hozer, I thought it was you I saw on a thread somewhere that was loading .300BLK on a XL650 using a modified toolhead. Do you have any specifics on how to accomplish that? Where to buy the machined toolhead?

Not sure how to do it on a 650, I chopped on one of my 1050 toolheads just for 300 WTF brass.

EL_NinO619
01-09-2012, 03:05
Wait you can have suppressors in WA. As soon as I get the itch of the wild and head back up to WA, Where going to have to meet up, my Aunt live not to far from that range. I though WA was going all super liberal, well that's what I hear from my aunt.

Boxerglocker
01-09-2012, 08:34
Wait you can have suppressors in WA. As soon as I get the itch of the wild and head back up to WA, Where going to have to meet up, my Aunt live not to far from that range. I though WA was going all super liberal, well that's what I hear from my aunt.

Yeah, they finally repealed the old law so now you can both legally own one and actually use it too.

I'm holding out getting the can until I am solidly committed to loading for the round. Then I'll do my trust and buy it and apply for the Tax stamp.
Being my first I want it to be truly subsonic with 220g bullets.

Anytime you come up Bro, we can meet up at Norpoint. I was just there Saturday night for IDPA and was
talking the owner into starting a .22 Tac rifle league one night during the week.

EL_NinO619
01-12-2012, 14:12
It all came, Time to go play.....
@Boxer, where did you open up the vacuum attachment



http://i893.photobucket.com/albums/ac135/Justin_Moreau/dillontrimmer.jpg

Boxerglocker
01-12-2012, 20:12
Here you go brother...
http://images5a.snapfish.com/232323232%7Ffp6354%3A%3Enu%3D68%3C5%3E%3A47%3E254%3EWSNRCG%3D33%3C%3B9297%3B3345nu0mrj
Be sure to center the holes from the inside as there is a ridge.
Still working on getting time to do a video of my set-up going... might be this weekend... I've got a class next week that will need 1000 rounds.

Are you going to set that up on a single stage? That's the wrong route in my opinion, why not just get a case feeder on your LNL? The less you have to touch your brass the more you'll appreciate the trimmer.

PCJim
01-12-2012, 21:24
Still working on getting time to do a video of my set-up going... might be this weekend... I've got a class next week that will need 1000K


Boxer, it will take you a week of non-stop shooting to work thru 1000K. Umm, 30 rd mags, maybe three mags / 90 rds per minute... Not including the mag reloading time required... You're looking at, well, over a week, night and day, of non-stop shooting. You'll need to perform several upper exchanges unless you don't care about your barrels...

Now, on the other hand, if you're planning on shooting a full auto.... :supergrin:

(I couldn't resist.. :cool:)

Boxerglocker
01-12-2012, 21:49
:steamed:My bad damm Ipad keyboard!

EL_NinO619
01-13-2012, 03:40
No its going on my LnL, I just sold my Lyman that I hated, So I got the hornady for ease of never having to take off the bushings. Thanks for the help, I'm sure I will be back with another question.

As for the casefeeder, only a matter of time.....