Commander size 1911 9mm [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Commander size 1911 9mm

brianfede
01-07-2012, 09:35
Hi,

I am new to the 1911 game, just bought a DW Heritage and now I feel the need to get a commander size 1911 in 9mm. Debating between the STI Ranger II and the DW Guardian. Anyone have experience with these 2 guns that can offer some insight? I really don't know too much about STI, other than the positive reviews I hear about the Trojan etc. ( I have read BAC's 1911 guide, very informative). Don't have a range nearby that rents the STI so that is not an option for me either.

This gun will be mostly used for targets and sometimes by my wife. I'm in Illinois so carry is not an option.

Secondly, is Oak Hill the place to buy STI's? Severns for DW?

Quack
01-07-2012, 09:52
Either will serve you well, but bobtails carry nicely.

STI has the Spartan IV coming out, which is commander size as well. Price is around $650 or so.

For DW you can do better on pricing from jetguns.com
STI has strict pricing policies, so the lowest you'll find is something like 10% under MSRP

glock2740
01-07-2012, 10:02
Either will serve you well, but bobtails carry nicely.

STI has the Spartan IV coming out, which is commander size as well. Price is around $650 or so.

For DW you can do better on pricing from jetguns.com
STI has strict pricing policies, so the lowest you'll find is something like 10% under MSRP
All of those are very good guns too.

brianfede
01-07-2012, 10:06
How to the finishes compare on the STI vs the DW?

Quack
01-07-2012, 11:19
the DW has a better finish.

i've taken a file to the slide and smal parts that were finished in the "Duty Treatment" and the file just slides right off. The frame is anodized.

ProCarryNAustin
01-07-2012, 22:31