lil dandy?? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : lil dandy??

easyj75
01-09-2012, 19:38
anyone use the lil dandy?? any pros or cons?? i'm just getting started and it looks like a good idea for a beginner..

thanks

bush pilot
01-09-2012, 21:33
I've been loading for many years and use a Lil Dandy all the time. They're accurate and throw loads as fast as you can turn the rotor.

F106 Fan
01-09-2012, 23:19
I have a couple of them and about 10 rotors. At one time, I loaded .45 ACP on an RCBS "Green Machine" which was an in-line progressive press. The 'Lil Dandy was part of the machine.

They have always worked well but I only did one load. I don't know why I bought all the other rotors but I did it years ago.

Richard

JBnTX
01-10-2012, 07:22
I just started using using the Little Dandy, and so far I like it.

It's quick and almost fool proof.

Three-Five-Seven
01-10-2012, 08:11
The virtue of the Lil' Dandy is that it can be hand-held while charging cases. Sometimes, you want to have your rounds in a case block with fifty rounds ready to charge. In this situation, the charging can be done quickly and accurately with a lil' Dandy. You can then inspect your charges with a light and proceed to bullet seating.

However, there are only a few, specialty situations where you want to charge cases in that way.

The rotors for the Lil' Dandy are expensive, difficult to find, and must be stored. You will find that every time you start a new project where you want to use the Lil' Dandy hand-held you don't have the exact rotor you need to do the job correctly. So, you have to find some rotors or "adjust" your load to use the rotors you have on hand with the powders you have on hand. Not the safest way to do hand loading.