Can an old Wingmaster (2 3/4-inch) be made to shoot 3-inch ammo? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Can an old Wingmaster (2 3/4-inch) be made to shoot 3-inch ammo?

JTR
01-26-2012, 00:48
I have an old Wingmaster that was born with a barrel chambered for only 2 3/4-inch shells. I have picked up a new(er) barrel with factory rifle-sights and 3-inch camber I really like and want to use it on the old Wingmaster.

The new rifle-sighted barrel has a chamber that will fit both 2 3/4 and 3-inch shells. Not that I shoot much if any 3-inch ammo, but as the barrel is chambered for it... I figured I'd see if I can safely make the gun run 3-inch ammo. Is there any if at all modifications needed to be made to the gun so it can run 3-inch ammo?

MrMurphy
01-26-2012, 03:21
Want to blow up a shotgun?

Stick Magnum rounds into a non Magnum receiver.

Seen an older 500 have that happen.

JTR
01-26-2012, 10:22

Thats good to know. How are the 870s different from each other?

Buffering
01-26-2012, 13:00

Are you sure about this?

IIRC, older 870's can be modified by moving/restaking the ejector. The OP has a 3" barrel so he's perfectly fine once he can get the shell into the chamber but the innards of the 870 need to be modified for 3" shells. It's not expensive but the pretty finish is messed up so plan on a reblue/refinish to make it purty again.

The receiver will handle moving a 3" shell because there's room but it's the ejector problem. I'm sure someone will first hand experience with the modification will be along shortly.

aippi
01-26-2012, 14:28
OH my. Murph is messing with you. The receiver has nothing to do with shooting magnums. If that was the case how can you even shoot a Mossberg shot gun as the receiver is Aluminum. Shell length does not designate the magnum round as there are multiple 2 3/4" magnum loads out there.

Our Departmenal load was 2 3/4" Magnum 00 buck and our old 870's were 2 3/4" receivers and I fired thousands of these loads in those weapons.