Prepping: Knowledge vs. Stuff [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Prepping: Knowledge vs. Stuff

Bolster
01-27-2012, 21:00
So I'm relatively new to prepping, and when I first started, I thought it was about laying up stuff: food, fuel, gear. During the first year it was all about buying.

The longer I hang out on this forum, the more I think prepping is about acquiring skills, about learning. How to grow food, how to shoot straight, how to organize your group or neighbors.

What is prepping to you? obviously it's both, but what do you put more emphasis on, buying more stuff, or learning more skills?

If your answer is learning, what's your short list of "must learn now" skills?

gimmejr
01-27-2012, 22:05
I have to learn how to use this dam Ham radio. lol

G29Reload
01-27-2012, 23:42
Both knowledge and gear are important.

Yes, knowledge trumps gear mostly, but lets face it:

I might figger out how to light a fire with bowsaw, but its just so much simpler to have matches. I don't need a fire tomorrow, I need it now!

Will I survive if I can hold out to to getting the bow saw thing rolling? Maybe. But damn, a cup of coffee on this here gas stove just seems right! Right NOW!

Speed is where equipment rules. Gotta have stuff. Not havin stuff sucks.

JK-linux
01-27-2012, 23:49

Lone Kimono
01-28-2012, 00:08
Reminds me I really need to start a simple offline ie: paper books library of some basics like dressing game, curing meat, plants to eat, first aid, etc... Good post!

I've started to do that with books in general. Most of the world is going to be out of luck when their Kindles and Google stop working.

Bolster
01-28-2012, 00:12
I've started to do that with books in general. Most of the world is going to be out of luck when their Kindles and Google stop working.

LOL, I had not even thought of that. Much of my library is in electrons. That will be all gone. Yep, I need to start a preparedness library on dead trees.

M1A Shooter
01-28-2012, 00:40