switch from wheel gun snub to semi auto pistol need some advise [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : switch from wheel gun snub to semi auto pistol need some advise

pat701
02-12-2012, 10:24
I am a retired Chicago police officer. I have always carried wheel guns for 34 years. Right now i carry a S/W mod#64 2" barrel six shot 38 spl+P. I would like to switch over to a semi auto in 9mm for carry. I would like a full sized grip so i can shoot with all 4 fingers and not get bit by the slide while firing. In 34 yrs i have never needed to have to display my mod# 64 here in Chicago off duty or retired. So i hope and pray i won't need it in the future. I am looking to spend about $500 and i feel as 10 rounds is fine for me, as i never needed my 6 rounds. I like the idea of DA/SA with a decocker, i think that would me me feel the must confident to carry with a round in the chamber. But i am very open to other options of different types of semi autos. I carry inside the pants, in front of me on right side i am right handed. Please help this old law dog make some choices as to what is should look at at a gun store. I have arthritis in my hands so recoil is also a factor thats why i am looking at 9MM. The Sig SP2022 has caught my eye. I have fired XD's and am not crazy about the striker fired semi autos. Buy i can read and learn about DAO and DAK. I did learn and qualify with a colt 45 acp when i was on the job. Please point me in the right direction as to what to rent at the gun shop.

HeliGlock
02-12-2012, 10:33
Congrats on your Retirement. I would go for the 9mm in a Sig or Glock, very low Recoil and Comfortable in the Hand. I too have arthritis in both hands, worse in my right. just my 2 cents. Good Luck Pat701.

Dave.1
02-12-2012, 10:37
I made the switch from revolvers to auto in 2008. Still like the double action pull though.

If you don't mind going used you can get a S&W 3rd Generation 5906 DA/SA for $300 at CDNN. They have a decocker/safety.