Is the J Frame For Back Up Consittered Old School [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Is the J Frame For Back Up Consittered Old School

Glocknload 19
02-22-2012, 18:34
Was consittering the Ruger LCR to my Glock 23 for a back up weapon but really got razzed from some of the guys in my agency. They consittered even the LCR as old school and suggested I choose a compact 9MM. I was told almost no agencys authorize the j frames for back up weapons anywhere in the country and they are outdated. Don't know how accurate this statement is. I feel that it would and always has been an excellent pocket back up. How many of your agencys still have the j frame on the approved list and how many of you do carry them for back up. Im a Bond Enforcement Agent and want to get the best pocket protection possible. Lot of the guys carry the LCP but im just not comfortable carrying a 380 even for back up. All opinions would be apperciated. Need to find something to qualify with soon. Thanks guys.

CJStudent
02-22-2012, 18:39
I know a lot of local officers carry j-frames as BUGs or off-duty pieces.

3Speedyfish3
02-22-2012, 18:43
A J-frame back-up rides with me on duty in my ballistic vest. Revolvers have distinct advantages over semi-automatic pistols. Wheelguns go bang when you pull the trigger and go bang again when you pull the trigger. An auto may be out of battery and not fire in close combat. It also may not cycle to give you a second shot if the slide is obstructed or the gun is "limp-wristed."

The downside to the revolver is the limited payload of ammunition and slow reloads, though, as a back-up it is a save your skin last resort.

I have no problem with five rounds of .38 Spl. +P 135 grn. GDHP's and a speedstrip in the right front pants pocket in case of trouble.

Randall

Sam Spade
02-22-2012, 18:44
I know plenty of agencies in AZ authorizing Jframes. Restrictions are generally based on caliber, not action.