I am left eye dominant [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : I am left eye dominant

redbread67
02-22-2012, 19:11
I am right handed and left eye dominant per my eye dr. I am just getting into shooting handguns should i just try to learn it left handed or what. Any input appreciated.

whoops dude
02-22-2012, 19:20
I'm right handed but left eye dominant as well. I shoot left handed and fight southpaw. Honestly, I can shoot with both hands.

BEER
02-22-2012, 19:22
i'm the same way, but i was born 90% blind in my right eye. i have to shoot long guns left handed but with handguns i shoot right handed.

what i do is as a draw or step into my shooting stance is i turn my body from the waist up until my left eye lines up with the sights. this does 2 things, 1) it keeps the gun in my strong natural hand, 2) it offers a smaller profile if i'm ever in a fire fight situation.

try it for yourself. draw your handgun from your strong side and as you pull sweep your right foot back and start turning until you're standing almost cross body. the only real negative i've found to this so far is that it makes shooting big boomers like stout .44, .500, or other large bore handguns a bit uncomfortable since your wrists are perfectly alighned, but for "normal" calibers such as .357 and smaller it works fine.

Keyhole
02-22-2012, 19:22
Lots of us are cross-eye dominant. I don't fight it.

freedom790
02-23-2012, 06:42
I'm also left eye dominant, right handed. When I shoot action pistol my simple solution is I slightly turn my head right to align my left eye down the sights. With a little practice it just become natural.

I believe Todd Jarrett did a youtube video of this, it might be worth viewing.

Rumbler_G20
02-23-2012, 07:05
Shoot with both eyes open. It won't matter which eye is dominant if you use a squarish stance.

It won't much matter which hand you use as dominant to shoot with either.