Self defense in college campus housing [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Self defense in college campus housing

Andy W
02-24-2012, 13:22
Mas, thank you for all the knowledge you share with us here. I hope you continue to post here for a long time.

Here's the situation. I am a college student living in an apartment complex owned by my university (not a dorm.) This apartment complex is part of the campus. As is the case with many college campuses, weapons are prohibited, meaning I cannot legally have a gun in my apartment. However, there have recently been a string of burglaries in town, including an armed home invasion last week in my apartment complex. Yep, a home invasion in campus housing. Three dirtbags broke in, pistol whipped one of the residents, and robbed the 4 occupants at gunpoint. I can provide a link if you would like. This incident, as well as some other crimes that have been committed in town, have put self defense higher up on my list of priorities. Before I go any further, I would like to say that I do not have a firearm in my apartment. However, the thought has crossed my mind that, if I did illegally have a handgun in the apartment, no one would likely find out unless it needed to be used.

Now, here's my question, what do you think would happen in the event that I illegally had my M&P 9 in my apartment (it's currently 70 miles away at my grandpa's house), an armed robber broke in, and I used deadly force to defend myself and/or my roommate? I am 22 years old, have a clean record, and otherwise perfectly legal to own a firearm.

Here's a link to an article describing the home invasion.
http://www.wibw.com/home/headlines/KSU_Police_Investigating_Campus_Home_Invasion_139452733.html?storySection=comments#.Tz3xDn1yqwk.face book

Mas Ayoob
02-24-2012, 20:32
More complicated than it sounds, young brother. Bearing in mind that I give practical advice, not legal advice: