Solid specs for Upper tier over lower tier [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Solid specs for Upper tier over lower tier

RJHUB
03-09-2012, 13:22
Is there a good source for specifications on Colt,Noveske,LMT,Etc. compared to others?

I am new to AR's but not to firearms and manufacturing/machining and having trouble as an engineer finding the real value(not trade-in) for some of big name manufacturers.

Comparitively some of the new comers seem to have better or equal fit and finish with same specs as others.

Am I missing something?

Looks like building a top notch AR is the way to go for as value.

Is there an agreement from experienced folks on a complete rifle or made from different parts for each price range?
Like Under $1k, 1-$2K, 2-$3K, 3-$4K, and up.

I know you get what you pay for. Most the time.:supergrin:

WoodenPlank
03-09-2012, 14:16
Ut oh. Since you asked for specs, you get the infamous chart (https://spreadsheets.google.com/spreadsheet/pub?hl=en_US&hl=en_US&key=0AqmgMm61Ok7WdExwaG16OENzOEZ1akp2a3Y2NjMxTEE&single=true&gid=2&output=html)...

Where the chart goes, complaining, whining, and butt-hurt attitudes usually follow.

Original M4C thread can be found here (http://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=6642).

Javelin
03-09-2012, 14:27
Ut oh. Since you asked for specs, you get the infamous chart (https://spreadsheets.google.com/spreadsheet/pub?hl=en_US&hl=en_US&key=0AqmgMm61Ok7WdExwaG16OENzOEZ1akp2a3Y2NjMxTEE&single=true&gid=2&output=html)...

Where the chart goes, complaining, whining, and butt-hurt attitudes usually follow.

Original M4C thread can be found here (http://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=6642).

I'm not a fan of "the chart" but it seems that most folks who get butt-hurt are the ones that buy their rifle and then run to the internet only to find their rifle isn't so great or that for the price of their Bushmaster, Armalite, etc they could have had an LMT, BCM, DD, etc.

:wavey:

WoodenPlank
03-09-2012, 14:45