AR15 Optics. [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : AR15 Optics.

SoM3_Idi0t
03-12-2012, 07:18
I recently purchased a Spikes Tactical AR15.

Im looking to buy some type of optic but Im not sure where to begin.

Ive looked at major brands like Trijicon/ Leupold/ Nikon. Ive read that NcStar is kinda like the Payless Shoes of optics.

Id love to have an ACOG, but for $1300, I can build another AR.

Im looking to shoot at max distance, and Im not sure on what some of the technical stuff as far as Power/ 1x/4x and so on, so please dont rip on me to bad .....

Glock 1
03-12-2012, 12:41
Nice gun choice. I am an AR noob so I don't have any advice for you but welcome and good luck. These AR people know their stuff. :wavey:

Roger1079
03-12-2012, 13:13
You can also put the Eotech 3x magnifier behind an Eotech 516. That setup can be had for about $800 and gives you both the flexibility of close range targeting as well as longer range. Just a thought.

eclark53520
03-12-2012, 13:14
I recently purchased a Spikes Tactical AR15.

Im looking to buy some type of optic but Im not sure where to begin.

Ive looked at major brands like Trijicon/ Leupold/ Nikon. Ive read that NcStar is kinda like the Payless Shoes of optics.

Id love to have an ACOG, but for $1300, I can build another AR.

Im looking to shoot at max distance, and Im not sure on what some of the technical stuff as far as Power/ 1x/4x and so on, so please dont rip on me to bad .....

What is 'max distance' to you?

Most people that shoot at long ranges, have figured out that $1300 is cheap for an optic.

You don't strike me as a long distance shooter.

K. Foster
03-12-2012, 13:27
Don’t know what you consider “max distance” or what your budget is but a 3x9 variable is a very versatile scope Nikon and Burris are good brands and you’ll never go wrong with a Leupold. With optics, you really do get what you pay for. Get a good set of picatinny rings or a quick detach mount from ADM or Larue and you’ll be set.