DPMS A3/M4 Question/Reliability? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : DPMS A3/M4 Question/Reliability?

Farmalljon
03-17-2012, 08:02
I'm totally new to the "AR" world, and I'm thinking about buying a "like new,shot very little" (so the guy says) DPMS A3/M4. Any issues with quality and or reliability with DPMS rifles? Any particular things to look for when I see the rifle in person? LIke I said, I'm new to AR15s so any advice will be helpful. Thanks.

jem375
03-17-2012, 09:20
try the search feature or get out a bag of popcorn, we have a few people that are really goofy on the subject...

Ruggles
03-17-2012, 09:38
try the search feature or get out a bag of popcorn, we have a few people that are really goofy on the subject...

That sir is a understatement :rofl:

K. Foster
03-17-2012, 10:12
DPMS does not have the best reputation. Not trying to insult anyone, just stating a fact. There are easily 20 brands of AR’s right now. Do a lot of research and then make an informed decision.
What do you want to do with this gun? Plinking, home defense, competition..............
Here are some brands that I do or would own. Colt, LMT, Daniel Defense, BCM, Spikes, PSA, Noveske.
If you have the opportunity to shoot the gun before you buy. Get some Wolf or Tula steel cased ammo and see if it functions.

cyrsequipment
03-17-2012, 10:13
Oh boy...

RyanNREMTP
03-17-2012, 10:49
Quickly answer these questions before the flaming starts:

1. What are your plans for this AR?

2. What price are you getting this "pre-used" AR for?

Like the others stated DPMS does not make the best ARs. If all you want is an AR to shoot paper targets with and you are getting a good price for it then it might serve your needs. Anything else I would consider something better.

Javelin
03-17-2012, 11:12
DPMS does not have a great record.