Looking for my first AR Rifle [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Looking for my first AR Rifle

mayhem23
03-17-2012, 21:10
I am one to own a few guns and like to add something new every once in awhile. However I have little to no knowledge about black guns. My interest is for shooting targets and deer hunting with one.

I am not asking which one to buy but what should I look for. Chrome lined barrel or receiver? Mil spec barrel? Flat top or iron sites?

I may add a light or forward handle. Hell I might paint it haze grey like a Navy ship.

Once I know what I am looking for then I can start looking into a brand to buy. Any helpful advice is welcome.

WoodenPlank
03-17-2012, 21:16
First thing to keep in mind: Using 5.56/.223 for deer in many parts of the US is unethical and illegal. Plenty of states have a minimum caliber requirements that are above .223. Even in states where it is legal, .223 will not (edit) always provide a clean, fast kill without extremely precise shot placement.

What kind of a price range are you looking for? This is a major consideration, too.

If you will be hunting at fairly close range, you might want to consider an AR in .300 AAC Blackout. 7.62x39 type ballistics in an AR package, without the reliability issues, special magazines, or special bolt needed for an actual x39 AR. The only thing different in a .300 AR is the barrel itself. Ammo choice is getting better, too, but still more expensive than 5.56.

A lot of things will depend on how much you have to spend, though. If you can tell us that, then it'll be easier for people to give you solid suggestions.

Cole125
03-17-2012, 23:35
If you want a AR15 for deer hunting I would suggest one in either 6.8 spc or 300 blackout. As said above, .223 is capable of killing a deer but its not always legal to do so or will get you a clean kill.

All you need is a basic rifle, I would look into the Stag Arms model 5 in 6.8. http://www.stagarms.com/product_info.php?products_id=210