New upper for S&W sport [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : New upper for S&W sport

biscotrip
03-19-2012, 10:37
So ive been thinking of getting a new upper for my sport that has a dust cover. Two questions:

1.) What is a good but not too expensive upper? Something just to kinda upgrade.

2.) Will all of my internals that i have now be able to be used in the new upper or do i have to buy a complete upper?

Im new to AR's so please dont bash me too hard.

WoodenPlank
03-19-2012, 13:08
Most any forged, stripped receiver will be good to go. If you get one stripped, you'll need the small parts for the dust cover and forward assist. PSA sells them with those parts already assembled for around $100.

Yes, you can transfer over your barrel, bolt, etc. However, unless you have a bit of experience with ARs, and the proper tools, you'd be better off taking it to a competent gunsmith and getting them to do the work for you.

Made Man
03-19-2012, 14:53
I plan on doing the same thing in the near future. Not as an upgrade, but more as a cosmetic thing. I like the look of the dust cover and FA, has more of a classic look in my opinion.

I sincerely believe that another upper receiver will not be an "upgrade" as the factory receiver is top shelf.

Outdoor Hub mobile, the outdoor information engine

nathanours
03-19-2012, 17:12
I plan on doing the same thing in the near future. Not as an upgrade, but more as a cosmetic thing. I like the look of the dust cover and FA, has more of a classic look in my opinion.

I sincerely believe that another upper receiver will not be an "upgrade" as the factory receiver is top shelf.

I've never heard anyone refer to S&W as "top shelf" regarding ar's.

WoodenPlank
03-19-2012, 17:16

I think he was more making a point that the S&W receivers are good quality, unless you wanna get into billet receivers.

Made Man
03-19-2012, 17:18