First Aid: New Techniques and Standards [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : First Aid: New Techniques and Standards

ScottieG59
03-25-2012, 00:14
(Sorry if this is a double post. Lost connection sending)

Mas, when I was a soldier, it was a common task to train on performing first aid for gunshot injuries. It seems not to be covered much in the civilian literature.

I have not checked the current first aid training the military teaches and I was a bit surprised by the actions a soldier took when he was shot several times in a robbery. Supposedly, he was trained in this, and it involved his inserting his fingers in the bullet holes to help control the bleeding until EMTs arrived on the scene. Before I read the article, I knew nothing of this technique. I am still not quite sure about it.

Additionally, I have seen that civilians can purchase packs of a material that will quickly clot a bad wound. I have not seen field reports on this product.

I am sure there are many newer things I have not a clue about.

When I speak with civilians without military experience, it is clear that most are completely unaware of how to treat wounds one would see in combat. TV and movies rarely cover it, though I did see one show where someone properly applied a pressure dressing.

There was an event near my home where some training might have saved a shooting victim's life, or, at least given him a chance. It involved a single chest shot and there was an entry and exit wound. We were taught to seal the chest cavity to deal with sucking chest wounds.