Here is my plan for my first step into preparedness [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Here is my plan for my first step into preparedness

Stonewall308
04-01-2012, 16:16
So, I want to stash some longterm food. I've never done this before but I've been reading around here and watched a few youtube videos.

Here is the tentative plan:

Buy 200 lbs of rice, 100 lbs of beans

8 five-gallon buckets, food grade and white, with gamma lids (should hold 300 lbs, according to what I've read on here)

8 20x30 7.5 mil mylar bags

2000 cc of O2 packets per bag

I plan to seal using an iron and 2x4

Comments and criticisms? This is just my first step, I will be getting more fancy items once I complete this (condiments, etc.).

Few questions:

I've read that 1lb of rice makes 10 servings, is that about right? If so, and assuming beans make approximately the same, that is 3000 servings of food. Three person family eating three meals per day, is about 330 days of food. Am I off here?

Does unopened hot sauce and/or soy sauce go bad? I am reading conflicting things on the internet.

Can you do pasta the same way? Will it also have a 20-30 year shelf life?

cyrsequipment
04-01-2012, 16:23
Unless you are already eating that diet, don't bet on it. The best thing to do is store what you already eat.

Stonewall308
04-01-2012, 16:32
Rotating is one option, long term storage is another. I understand the tradeoffs and I have decided that I am going to have at least some long term stored food. I may start stocking the pantry for rotation after I get this figured out.

kirgi08
04-01-2012, 16:39
Add $20 a week ta your food buying,you'll be amazed how fast your pantry grows.'08.

Water #1 and a means ta purify it.
Food
Medical supplies.

R_W
04-01-2012, 16:42
I don't know hot sauce or soy to go bad, if in a GLASS jar and the lid is sealed.

Don't forget salt.