155gr Gold Dots over XTPs in popularity ? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : 155gr Gold Dots over XTPs in popularity ?

preventec47
04-02-2012, 09:21
It seems like the consensus preference is the Gold Dots
in that weight range based on recent posts and testing etc.
Is that deserved ? Or is it based on the mission ? What I have
concluded from all the info posted is that the XTPs are
the tougher bullet in 155gr and thusly should outperform
at very high velocities by holding together better and
at lower velocities the Gold Dots expand more.
Is that what most everyone else has concluded ?

I am not a pistol hunter and 155gr to me is the best
overall compromise for Self Defense.

Andrew Wiggin
04-02-2012, 10:45
I'm pretty new to the 10mm and I can't speak for anyone else. The XTP has a general reputation - across calibers and weights - of doing poorly through clothing and barriers. The GDHP is very well regarded for opening well through clothing and doing very well through barriers. It is one of the best regarded JHPs on the market. Some folks argue that it over expands at 10mm velocity but I think that the pictures below disprove that. It is a 155gr GDHP I fired through water at approximately 1,375fps. I think the XTP is a lot more useful in heavier weights for animal defense and hunting. In that application the barrier and clothing performance is irrelevant and its tough construction is even more important. I'll be carrying 200gr XTPs this summer in rim country.

http://img685.imageshack.us/img685/610/dsc03043hi.jpg

http://img21.imageshack.us/img21/763/dsc03044xe.jpg

gofastman
04-02-2012, 17:00
The XTP has a general reputation - across calibers and weights - of doing poorly through clothing and barriers.
I would agree with this when compairing modern self defence bullets like the Tac-XP, GD, HST, etc.

But I would guess that they are at least as good as something like a Hydra-shok or a Silver tip.