Beretta 92FS vs M9 [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Beretta 92FS vs M9

gatorglockman
04-08-2012, 19:09
Okay.....did a prior thread on Beretta. I am close to pulling the trigger on a NIB Italian made 92FS that I can get a very good deal on where I moonlight (I get a pretty good employee discount).

That said, I served in the Army and carried an M9 so it has some sentimental value to me.

I am not an expert on the differences between the pistols except for the finish and that the M9's are made in the US. I can get the 92FS for about $50-60 less than the best deal I have found on the M9.

Feedback, opinion or guidance?

JaPes
04-08-2012, 19:23
The big difference is in the grip, where the beaver tail is. The 92fs usually has more of a radius there than the M9. The 92fs dust cover is slanted, whereas the M9 is flat/straight.

This is not always the case, because I've seen 92fs' built with M9 frames at the chain retailer.

The front sight blade on a 92fs is fixed to the frame. I'm not sure about an M9's.

Shipwreck should be around soon enough to give you the rundown. He's the resident 92-addict. :D

Have you considered either a 92A1 or M9A1? I believe they have a picatinny rail and dovetailed front sights.

TalkToTheGlock
04-08-2012, 23:05
I am shipwreck junior.

I have a bunch of 92fs and a M9.

I like the grip better on the M9. That extra radius makes the gun sit deeper in my grip. It feels better.

Also, the markings are a lot nicer on the M9.

Some people will say fit and finish are better on the Italians. I don't see the difference in fit at all. Finish I would give the slight edge to the Italian, but it might just be my mind olaying tricks on me.

I carry my M9 mostly in the winter with a shoulder rig under a zip up hoodie and I an comfortable with it.

I put around 1,000 rounds through my 92fs and 1,500 through my M9. Both are accurate and a oleasure to shoot. I do however like the feel of the 92fs trigger more. Feels more crisp.