Water world, life as a live aboard. [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Water world, life as a live aboard.

Huntersun2
05-01-2012, 11:03
While this subject has probably been discussed I thought I'd bring it back up.

My wife and I have been living/cruising aboard our vessel for the last 3 years, mainly the east coast of the US and the Bahamas, over 9,000 miles on this boat to date. Not surprisingly cruisers share similar beliefs with survivalists, self sufficiency/reliance being goal #1. Freedom from excessive govt intrusion also at the top of the list. This past year we have seen a surge of cruisers who will admit there boat is their BOV as well as their home and as a boat broker I have sold several vessels specifically for this porpoise.

Here is a brief description of our set up.
50'x23' custom power cat, twin Volvo penta common rail diesels, 160 hp per side. Max range (+/- conditions, speed etc) 1800 miles with a 20% reserve.

(4) charging alternators 120+160 amp
(6) Siemens solar panels feeding (5) 200amp house batteries with a trace 2500 watt inverter. All lights are LED.

12volt cold plate ref/freezer (spent 6 mo's in the Bahamas and came home with meat in the freezer).

5.5 kw diesel gen-set (1/4 gal per hour). Spare 2kw Honda gas. Air compressor for the Hookah dive rig.

18 gph 12 volt water maker, water collection available via a guttered hard top.

(2) hot water heaters, electric and engine manifold.

Propane grill, stove and oven with 40lbs propane, 1+ years worth of fuel using the grill daily.

327 gal diesel+(2) 100 Gal bladders, 150 gal water storage with a SeaGull filtration system for drinking and cooking. 75 gal waste holding.

(2) queen berths with separate heads. A third berth was converted to additional storage.

Small shop with washer/dryer combo, parts/spares storage and tools.

(3) GPS plotters, (1) Radar, (3) VHF's (1) SSB with pactor modem, (2) depth/temp units.

10' AB inflatable w/ 15hp out board (gas)
(2) bikes and a kyack.