10mm & TightGroup- also 800x and metering [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : 10mm & TightGroup- also 800x and metering

Adamg_55
05-13-2012, 19:15
Hey guys,
Im still relatively new to the 10mm world and haven't gone nuclear yet, still playing around above normal .40 but still below full 10mm potential.

I got a great deal by jumping in on a bulk purchase and I've got a jug of tightgroup. Ive got the lyman manual and I use the Hodgdon Reloading Data as well, but it says 5.4-6gr and my lyman manual doesn't list tight group as an option for 180gr bullets. It lists it for the 160 and 170 gr, but not 180.

So my question is:

How is tight group as a 10mm powder?
Anyone have any good data for it using 180 gr bullets?
Im looking for a medium to hot load. I use it for IDPA and would like to practice with a solid performing round.

Also I got a jug of 800x, but I am having a really hard time running it through my hornady lock and load powder activated case measure, and I'm running a progressive press so i really don't wanna hand weigh all of them.

Are there any tips out there that would help getting my powder measure to meter it decent? Would i be better off using the rifle graduator?

Specs of my gun:
Glock 20
IGB stock length barrel
22-24 lb recoil spring
recoil buffer
brand new Starline brass
180gr JHP Zero Projectiles

WeeWilly
05-13-2012, 19:50
Titegroup is too fast for moving a 180gr bullet in real mid to high 10mm velocities. The good news is you can probably make Major with less Titegroup than Hodgdon's start load level for 180gr jacketed in 10mm.

If you go with the 5.4gr start level, you should be well past Major PF.

You can put the stock recoil spring back in and take the buff out as well.

I cannot get 800x meter in my Dillon press, so I don't use it.

I am kind of a beginner 10mm guy as well, so hopefully some others will chime in as well.

Adamg_55
05-13-2012, 19:55
Im still new to this, what do you mean too fast?

Meathead9
05-13-2012, 19:56