Ruger LC9?? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Ruger LC9??

MississipVol
05-15-2012, 16:03
After buying my first every handgun a month ago (Gen 4 G19), I now have the "bug" and would like to get a pocket pistol for concealed carry. When I say "pocket carry", I truly mean that I plan to carry this weapon in my front pants pocket. (I am applying for my CC permit tomorrow.)

After looking at several different guns and watching a few youtube videos, I feel pretty good about a LC9 for the following reasons:

1. Seems small enough to carry in pants pocket.
2. Good price at LGS ($350)
3. Have not seen any real issues with the gun in my "research"
4. Long trigger and external safety seem reassuring (more so than problematic) since I will be carrying in my pocket next to my "junk" and plan to keep one in the chamber

Anyone want to comment on my reasoning? Since I am pretty new to handguns I would appreciate advice from seasoned gun owners/shooters.

TIA

Goldendog Redux
05-15-2012, 16:07
Considering the ten mile long trigger pull, the external safety is lame and wonky to operate. I don't use it. I am used to swiping safeties off.

Otherwise, the LC9 does the job I expect of it. Still have not found an agreeable holster for it.

MF

Bruce M
05-15-2012, 16:12
My LC9 went back to Ruger for a new firing pin and came back within a week or so, so they did a great job repairing it. I consider it a bit large for pocket carry. It is a good small gun and I like mine especially considering the size and price. If I was absolutely sold on pocket carry for about the same price I would go for one of the aluminum J frames that at least around here seem to be on sale lately at around 350 also.

Just_plinking
05-15-2012, 16:16