Chrono Results from range today,155's with unique and power pistol [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Chrono Results from range today,155's with unique and power pistol

OhioGlockMan
05-23-2012, 00:57
Ladies and Gentlemen, here's my readings from todays range trip. Temp was low 70's, altitude about 1000 feet, and everything shot with my glock 20 and 6 inch lone wolf barrel, everything in starline brass and winchester WLP primers. Avg from 4 shots.......

Rainier 155 flat point plated

Unique powder: 7 gr.- 1221 FPS, 7.2 gr.- 1278 fps, 7.4 gr -1297 fps.

Power Pistol: 9gr.- 1435, 9.2 gr- 1488, 9.4 gr- 1508

Ok can someone please give me their thoughts on this. I have been shooting for a couple years now with the 6 inch barrel AND 180 and 200 gr loadings and have learned I get generally 75-100 FPS over book loadings tested in 5 inch barrels, and same thing with factory loads. BUT this is my first experience with the 155 gr weight and the velocity numbers are WAY higher then the book listings for these charge weights, and Im checking a variety of sources like alliant, hornady, speer etc. The power pistol loadings are a good 200 FPS over the stated book velocites for these charge weights. Im not complaining, Im just thinking wow.

Here's some more miscellaneous non 10mm stuff I ran over the chronograph today....

.223 Speer 70 grain semi spitzer shot in 22 inch barrel bolt gun, winchester brass, winchester small rifle standard primer, 26 grains BL-C (2), clocked 2825 FPS- remarks, excellent loading.

.45 ACP Hornady critical defense 185 grain factory load, shot from my Kimber Ultra II W/ 3 inch barrel- clocked 875 FPS. Remarks- hornady claims 900 FPS from 3 inch barrel, and 1000 FPS from 5 inch barrel.

.22 LR winchester 26 grain tin bullet lead free super-X, fired from Remington model 514 rifle- clocked 1450 FPS. Remarks- winchester claims 1650 FPS