S&w .460 [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : S&w .460

DrSticky
05-24-2012, 15:40
There is a lot of talk about rifles and pistols in the woods. I was going to ask in another thread, but it seems to be its own topic. Since I am new to revolvers and pistol caliber carbines, this has generated many questions. So these maybe be silly questions, but I will ask anyway.

Based on what quake and others have said, I have been looking at the S&W 460V. But I can't find a complimenting lever gun(or pistol caliber carbine). I would like one that shoots the same array of calibers(.460S&W, .454, .45LC).

1. Is there are .460S&W rifle, that shoots .454 and .45LC. Preferably that you recommend.
2. Can you do something like the "moonclip conversion" to a pistol caliber rifle? I am asking to see if it will shoot .45ACP
3. Can a S&W 460(pistol or rifle) shoot .410 shotgun? Since the judge can do it, it leads one to believe...

quake
05-24-2012, 17:51
...Is there are .460S&W rifle, that shoots .454 and .45LC. Preferably that you recommend....

Not that I know of, however...

I've read multiple reports & reviews of the H&R .45LC single-shot being re-chambered to .454 Casull, and afaik, the top-end pressure on the .460 is the same as the .454; 65,000psi. I can't swear that's correct, but it would be worth checking out. If (IF) it's true, then it seems (SEEMS) logical that any gun that can handle .454 pressures would therefore handle .460 pressure. Not saying it's fact; saying I read it somewhere.

I've also read a couple reports of that same H&R being re-chambered to .460; but again, it's just internet reading. I"m no gunsmith, and I'd check with a gunsmith or ten to get better answers.

...Can you do something like the "moonclip conversion" to a pistol caliber rifle? I am asking to see if it will shoot .45ACP...
Not sure how that would work except for something like the "Judge" carbine series, as they're revolvers. Can't picture what you mean other than that...?