Question About Lead Fouling [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Question About Lead Fouling

Head Space
06-23-2012, 08:43
I am new to Glock reloading but not reloading other pistols and rifles. When I read data in the 10mm forum I notice many like hard cast bullets. Along with the upper velocity ranges in a 10 is there a problem with leading? Are the cast bullets hard enough that leading isn't a problem? When casting one's own bullets what hardness do you look for? Finally is there a favorite solvent for barrel cleaning? Thanks for the look, I realize there are a lot off questions so thanks for the time.

_The_Shadow
06-23-2012, 10:12
Very soft lead can leave deposits at the higher pressures and velocities of 10mm. Having a bullet style that holds enough lube and quality of lube can assist with less fouling!

Usually bullets cast from wheel weight alloy is hard enough for the 10mm bullets. Some actually go a little harder alloy. Most of the time I don't get any leading, but sometime very minor streaks of fouling do occur. This cleans up easily with Hoppe's #9 and bore brush wrapped with a patch.

Bullet size helps and so does the bullet lube. I size to 0.4015" and have been using Rooster Lab Red Zambini lube, but I see it is not as readily availible. I may start using the Magma lube (cheaper and solid sticks) in my Star Sizers when I run out of the Zambini Red.

Sometimes it trial and success or error!

dm1906
06-23-2012, 11:19