hardcast 200gr vs 230gr [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : hardcast 200gr vs 230gr

JeremyInMT
06-29-2012, 12:55
I was looking at hardcast ammo and bought some DT 200gr and 230gr as they were the same price. I've shot both and don't notice much of a difference but that could be because I'm a novice. Can someone tell me which would be better to woods carry? Maybe no difference? If I don't get a few replies I'll mention that we have bears around here and see if that helps, lol.

Taterhead
06-29-2012, 22:38
The WFNGC hardcast is a good choice. I personally prefer the 200 grain weight because you have diminishing returns gowing heavier.

I would suggest collecting a whole bunch of different stuff to shoot them with and then decide. Milk jugs filled with water, leather, wood, meat. Just pile a bunch of crap in front of water jugs and you will find that they punch a pretty nice and deep hole. Just put a lot of water-filled milk jugs as a backstop because they will plow through several. Either should have plenty of penetration for black bear, although I feel that the 200 might have the edge.

Opie 1 Kenopie
06-30-2012, 13:00
Is anyone shooting limited quantities of WFNGC through a stock G20 barrel? I'm not interested in aftermarket stuff for my new 20SF right now, but I'm always looking for the best deep woods round. Im currently hiking with some classic Swampfox 200 gr. XTPs. Thanks for any replies

CanyonMan
06-30-2012, 15:52
Over 14/15 years, I have shot a truck load of Hard Cast bullets through the stock G20. All makes and models (of HC) but mostly 200gr WFNGC Beartooth.. Never an issue and no problems, and run from 1150/1300+ with Blue Dot and 2400.

I believe it is "Yondering," here on GT, that shoots a ton of lead for years and years through his G21.

Use good quality Hard Cast, with proper lube and no worries !