Noob hammer question? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Noob hammer question?

Eric2340
06-30-2012, 13:04
1911 noob here -

Other than preference and appearance, what are the difference / reasons for the different styles of hammers on 1911s? Spur, skeletonized, ring, etc. ?

Thanks -

jakebrake
06-30-2012, 13:18
i like skeletonized, because the standard spur always digs into my skin when i carry.

a lot of posters here will scoff at that. and that's ok.

Veedubklown
06-30-2012, 22:57
The spur hammer was the original, GI issue. The commander (round, rowl, whatever. It's round, with a hole in it) was later, for the commander issue, and was rounded to deal with the hammer-bite issue. The skelontonized hammers were made because they're lighter, and it has something to do with lock-up times, or some crap like that. Similar in principle to the titanium strikers in glocks, but I can't remember what the point was, other than pouring money into your guns. At least you get to see the hammer! I have the skelontonized hammer on my 1911, and I like it, but I wouldn't pay the cost to convert my hi-power to it from the rounded hammer. It's just personal preference at that point, I believe. Hopefully someone comes in who can articulate my point better.

glock2740
06-30-2012, 23:11
i like skeletonized, because the standard spur always digs into my skin when i carry.

a lot of posters here will scoff at that. and that's ok.
I agree.

fnfalman
06-30-2012, 23:36
The spur hammer also causes hammer bite in conjunction with the little nib that is part of the grip safety. Doesn't happen to everybody, but happens enough with other folks, hence the skeletonized hammer/round Commander hammer coupled with ducktail grip safety/beaver tail grip safety.

Eric2340
07-01-2012, 06:00
Ok, so the only difference then between ring style and skeletonized ones is preference then?

Thanks -

fnfalman
07-01-2012, 06:26