Is it okay to shoot rifled slugs down a smooth bore with a full choke? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Is it okay to shoot rifled slugs down a smooth bore with a full choke?

dajcarroll
07-17-2012, 21:31
Im sure this topic has been asked before, but I would still consider myself new to this site. I have a 12 gauge New England Firearms Pardner with a 28" barrel, 3" Full choke. I don't know anything about chokes. I was wondering if rifled slug rounds could be shot with this gun. I understand sabot slugs are a no, but what about rifled slugs? Friends of mine are hunters, and they've asked me to start coming along on trips with them now. All I have are buckshot loads. Can I shoot rifled slugs for longer distance or could that cause a problem? If not, what are my best options. 3" magnum 00 buck? Thanks for the help.

G19 - Gen 3
G37 - Gen 3
NEF Pardner SBI 12 Ga.
Savage Model 24 - .22LR/410

UtahIrishman
07-17-2012, 21:46
I'm no expert but I'll give this a bump as it deserves, actually needs, a correct answer.

If I were to hazard a guess I would do so on the side of caution and say no.

Chokes are for improving shot patterns. A full choke compresses the shot pattern as it comes out of the barrel. Thus there is a small obstruction from the choke that would cause serious problems with a rifled slug.I'm assuming the choke isn't removable. If it's re-moveable you could take it off of course.

A choice of shot I will leave to others as I don't know much about shotguns.

dajcarroll
07-17-2012, 21:59
I'm no expert but I'll give this a bump as it deserves, actually needs, a correct answer.

If I were to hazard a guess I would do so on the side of caution and say no.