Facing a BG in body armor. Insights? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Facing a BG in body armor. Insights?

RedsoxFan4Lyfe
07-21-2012, 20:57
Well the shooting in Colorado got me thinking about this I must admit.

I have seen the videos where the guy shoots himself point blank with a .44 Magnum pistol to demo his vest and nothing happens to him.

Do people hit with body armor on even feel it? I carry a Glock 19, 9mm loaded with +P Gold Dots. This incident got me thinking about something bigger I must admit.

I wonder if a hot 10mm or a hot .38 Super would effect someone in armor at close range. Some reports say the shooter was wearing a bullet proof helmet. So would a hot 10mm or .38 Super in the head have dropped him? All that energy has to go somewhere right?

I'm not an expert in body armor so forgive my ignorance. I'm just curious as to what one can do besides a Mozambique drill, which in a dark, smoke filled theater with screaming innocent people running for their lives is not really a viable option.

Thanks in advance.

Caver 60
07-21-2012, 21:42
I certainly don't know much about body armor either. Except there are different levels of body armor. The lightest being what the average officer working a normal shift every day all week long would wear. The heaviest being what some SWAT teams and military wear (even in the military I suspect there are different levels of body armor.) It's all at least somewaht uncomfortable to wear, especially in hot weather.

It's all designed to be effective in defending against varying threat levels. Some can be penetrated by hot handgun loads or even a bow and arrow or knife. Other stuff will stop or slow down some rifle ammo. The wearer stands a risk of some kind of injury with much of it. But hopefully it will save their life in many cases, or reduce the injury they sustain.

Probably be someone along shortly, with much more expertise than I have.

TactiCool
07-21-2012, 21:47