Help me help my wife shoot better. [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Help me help my wife shoot better.

2-tap
07-22-2012, 15:15
Several months back i got my wife a s&w m&p 9c. The only thing she had prior to this was a taurus 85. She has not shot a lot untill recently and i am no expert but shes having trouble shooting the m&p. She shoots way low almost every time but today i notices that she was doing rather well with the taurus in single action and a 22 that has a nice trigger. At first i thought it was sight picture or flinching but now im thinking the trigger is too hard for her smaller hands because she does well with other guns. Just want some opinions before i go buy a trigger kit and to be honest im not sure if j want to do that because this model does not have thumb safety.

Outdoor Hub mobile, the outdoor information engine

Sharkey
07-22-2012, 15:22
I have girlie size hands and the M&P9C has relatively light trigger in my opinion especially considering the Taurus 85.

I'd do a couple things: First and foremost, do not teach her anything. Couples do not do well at this. No, I am not joking. Send her to a gun class. Second, there are different tools out there to strengthen hand grip and she might try that. My guess is she is anticipating recoil.

Haven't seen her shoot, but I doubt it is the M&P trigger.

2-tap
07-22-2012, 15:25
Yea i dint have a trigger pull gauge but the m&p is prolly around 5 or 6lbs its not that great in my opinion bit not because of the pull. My m&p shield has a much better trigger. I will say that if you pull the hammer back on the taurus the trigger pull is quite a bit lighter than the m&p

JaPes
07-22-2012, 15:27
Get her some time with a NRA certified instructor. An hour with a good instructor is worth it. They'll be able to point out and help correct any flaws in basic shooting technique.