Do you trust your reloads more than factory ammo? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Do you trust your reloads more than factory ammo?

RMTactical
08-18-2012, 23:56
I have not been reloading for long and so I am a novice at best right now. I assume that most of you get better reliability with your handloads.

My handloads have been more accurate for me than factory ammo...

However, the .223 I have reloaded, although it goes bang and hasnt blown anything up, has given me more FTE's and FTF's in my AR15's than I am used to. Not a ton mind you, but enough for me to question using it for self defense. I think it could be related to not loading it very hot, but I am not sure. I do load it on the weaker side.

Any tips for reliable reloads? Is it likely I am not loading it hot enough to cycle the weapon reliably?

PzGren
08-19-2012, 01:09
To answer your question is not so simple for me. I generally come up with range loads in different classes; plinker for fast shooting and ammo for accuracy. My plinkers are just mass produced rounds with less care invested into them, cheaper bullets, or softer alloys.

I trust my rounds for defensive purposes more than factory defensive ammo since I control the components myself. Over the years I had found expensive defeensive ammo that lacked the anvil in the primer and Geco berdan brass that missed the flash holes.

Now to the .223 that gives you problems. Is your brass uniform? Have you checked case length? How do you measure your powder and do you use high quality components?

A failure to feed in a bottlenecked cartridge is always suspicious and should be related to either overall lenght or the magazine.

DoctaGlockta
08-19-2012, 05:24
I have not been reloading for long and so I am a novice at best right now. I assume that most of you get better reliability with your handloads.

My handloads have been more accurate for me than factory ammo...