Am I making a bomb or what? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Am I making a bomb or what?

SpectreRider
08-19-2012, 20:53
Is keeping a bunch of ammo in the gun safe a good place for it or a really stupid idea.

The safe is fire rated 1200 degrees F. for 30 min.

I can't say I have ever seen an answer for this. If you know, please share, and Thanks!

Kevin108
08-19-2012, 20:59
It's safe.

Get it!?

But seriously, it is.

janice6
08-19-2012, 20:59
No. For the shell to produce the greatest force the powder must be confined for a finite amount of time for the burn to turn into an explosion.

The release of force of an unconfined shell is in a spherical distribution and is not forced into a particular direction. I believe the force will fall off as the square of the distance similar to light. This will result in a considerable loss of pressure.

The shell will "pop" but the bullets will be confined to the interior and the round is just "cooked" off.

I am not a gun expert but I believe the physics of this situation will be as described.

You are probably better off with the ammo in the safe during a fire. There is less chance of a first responder being hurt.

4TS&W
08-19-2012, 21:01
I ate too much guacamole at the neighborhood party yesterday.

THAT was a bomb!

What you're doing is actually pretty cautious (notice, I didn't say it, on account of the poster above who beat me to it...)

Kevin108
08-19-2012, 21:04
Yep. For a bullet to work, all or almost all of the force needs to be released straight forward in the space of a given shell. When the force is released without the directional control, it's all of the bang but only a fraction of the force.

SpectreRider
08-19-2012, 21:34
OK... I looked up the combustion point for smokeless powder and the low end of the range is about 375 degrees F.

The idea of the safe is to keep the guns from walking off in a break-in and to not burn in a fire.