Total newbie question - reloading dies [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Total newbie question - reloading dies

TQuigg
08-20-2012, 14:43
I've been thinking about getting into reloading lately. As a result, a co-worker gave me his entire set up (RCBS single stage press, dies, scales, etc). He has not used it in years, and just wanted it out of the house. Nice friend, eh? Have a LOT of learning to do. I'm watching reloading videos, reading books (ABC's of Reloading) etc.

Question: Are reloading dies "universal"? That is to say, can I use Lee Precision dies or Hornady dies in a RCBS press, and vice versa? If so, are adapter bushings needed?

Thanks for your time
Tim Quigg

sellersm
08-20-2012, 15:25
For them most part, yes, they're interchangeable. Most dies are the same size when you're talking about common SS type presses (not bench-rest type or other 'exotic' types).

TQuigg
08-20-2012, 17:38
For them most part, yes, they're interchangeable. Most dies are the same size when you're talking about common SS type presses (not bench-rest type or other 'exotic' types).

Thanks much.

Taterhead
08-20-2012, 22:06
Nice friend! I could use a few more like that! sellersm covered your question pretty well. One thing to consider is that if you are loading for pistol cartridges, carbide dies are highly preferable no matter the brand.

Welcome to reloading. Good call on consulting loading manuals. You might also pick up Speer #14. It has a pretty easy to follow set of instructions for reloading. It has separate instructions for pistol and rifle loading which is nice. Case prep for straight wall vs. bottleneck is a bit different. Speer spells that out pretty well in my opinion.

TQuigg
08-21-2012, 08:46