Close Fitting OWB vs IWB Carry? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Close Fitting OWB vs IWB Carry?

Restless28
08-25-2012, 06:31
I love my Walther PPS. I have carried it in a Desantis IWB leather holster, but I'm still not comfortable sitting. With fall coming, I'm thinking that a close fitting OWB holster may be an option.

Got any suggestions?

Do you prefer OWB to IWB?

ak103k
08-25-2012, 06:38
I prefer the IWB, as its the most concealable, and for me, the most comfortable.

OWB is OK, I just diont find it as stable, and you have to watch how you move to keep it out of sight.

FFR Spyder GT
08-25-2012, 06:40
OWB

I cannot imagine why anyone would IWB carry.

I've been carrying for over 30 years and have tried every way possible and still end up OWB.

Go to a LGS that has a decent selection of holsters and try them on until you find the one that you like.

For myself it was an easy choice....... Glock pistol = Glock holster.

I even use the larger holster for my Taurus PT845.

Bren
08-25-2012, 06:42
I prefer OWB holsters. I usually use 518 series paddle holsters for Glock, Walther PPK, etc. or a Blade Tech kydex.

OWB is much much more comfortable, so I only use IWB if I really need it to conceal.

In summer I prefer a Safariland 518 with a Hawaiian shirt over it. The big bright pattern of the shirt also helps concealment, by fooling the eye so the outline of the gun isn't noticeable. It's much easier to conceal udner a patterned shirt than a solid color and it also makes you not look like a ninja who is probably carrying a gun, like safari and hunring style shirts do.

Restless28
08-25-2012, 06:43
Yeah, those cheap Glock holsters keep it close. That's the type of close that I want.

ETA: Fnfalman posted up a pic of his OWB carry method recently. I thought that looked comfortable.

SigFTW
08-25-2012, 08:14
I carry IWB with full size and compact, never had had a problem and very comfortable. You just need paints that are not too tight.

ratf51