First loads problem with primers [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : First loads problem with primers

DRJ1911
08-25-2012, 15:46
I ran a few different loads to test today on my new Dillon 650 for my 9mm's and ran into a few problems. I got most worked out but I am still having problems with high primers. I will run a few and all will be well and then get a primer or two not fully seated. This is my first time loading on a progressive and I am not sure what I am doing wrong. Anyone have any advise ? I am using clean once fired brass and win primers and had about 15rd out of 40 that were not seated correctly so I am doing something wrong. Thanks for any help.

Doyle

norton
08-25-2012, 16:21
I ran a few different loads to test today on my new Dillon 650 for my 9mm's and ran into a few problems. I got most worked out but I am still having problems with high primers. I will run a few and all will be well and then get a primer or two not fully seated. This is my first time loading on a progressive and I am not sure what I am doing wrong. Anyone have any advise ? I am using clean once fired brass and win primers and had about 15rd out of 40 that were not seated correctly so I am doing something wrong. Thanks for any help.

Doyle

Make sure you are pushing firmly on the handle when you seat the primer on the upstroke. All of your primers are small ones aren't they? Also could it be your 9mm cases have military crimps?

DRJ1911
08-25-2012, 16:28
Thanks Norton, Yes I am using sm primers and no crimped cases. I think you are right about my seating pressure and will be watching this closely on my next batch. Thanks again

Doyle

shotgunred
08-25-2012, 17:00