Newby Q: .357sig - easy or not? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Newby Q: .357sig - easy or not?

GoBoilers!
08-30-2012, 07:18
I am relatively new to reloading. So far I have tried 9mm and .38 special and have had good success (fairly accurate, functioned fine, and I still have all my fingers ;-)

My next venture in this sport will be .40S&W, as I have a Glock 23 on my shopping list. After reading a bit about the .357sig cartidge, I am intrigued. I might just buy a Lone Wolf conversion barrel and try it out. I hear lot of complaints about the cost of .357sig ammo so I will plan to reload it too. Having never reloaded any non-straight walled cases before, and not having dealt with .357sig at all, is it difficult to reload? Any precautions (outside of ordinary) that I need to heed? Is it hard to find new or once-fired brass? Suggested powders? Any other suggestions / tips / feedback wlecome.

Thanks!
---
GB!

F106 Fan
08-30-2012, 07:33
I have never loaded .357 Sig but I don't know why it would be any different than loading bottleneck rifle cartridges and that is done all the time.

Make sure you have a case gauge for checking your resizing die setup.

Brass is $173/1000:
http://www.midwayusa.com/product/941461580/starline-reloading-brass-357-sig

Others will chime in with a more experienced reply.

Richard

Smoker
08-30-2012, 07:44
i load 357 Sig, it's just the same as anything else I reload, I don't hurry thru anything, I load them for about 12 or 13 cents each. Take your time, sizing is very important, you can use the same bullets in 9mm so you can two calibers out of one box. I am using Universal powder right now, seems to be working well for me. I just love that caliber.
There are a lot of thread already out here, go back & dig thru them, tons of information.

dkf
08-30-2012, 07:52
First pistol cartridges I ever reloaded were .357sig and .380. Had more issues with .380.