Resume and job hunting advice needed. [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Resume and job hunting advice needed.

HarlDane
08-30-2012, 15:34
I’ve seen plenty of job hunting and resume threads over the years here and there is usually plenty of good advice so I thought I’d run my current situation by the GT brain trust. I’ll start with a little background information.

Three weeks ago, I graduated from college with a BS in accounting and a BA in economics. I’m now in full time job hunting mode and trying to dust off a resume that hasn’t been updated in ten years. My goal is to land an entry level position with a small to mid-sized local accounting firm and eventually become a CPA.

I don’t fit the mold of most recent college grads. After graduating HS and spending a few semesters bouncing around community college, I spent the better part of a decade chasing fruit up and down California and later the east coast, working in the Ag industry. I eventually settled down, got married and started a family. I gave up my life on the road for a desk job with a small software company started by my mother and a few partners. Their eventual plan was to sell the business, so I knew it wasn’t a long term career move, but it was a stable 9-5 job with benefits that would hold me over until I could move back into a job in agriculture that didn’t involve living out of a suitcase.

Things were great for a few years and I got comfortable, eventually the plan to go back was scrapped as my priorities continued to change. I knew I still needed a long term plan, so I arranged my work schedule so that I could go back to school. Not too long after that, the business started to tank and eventually after a year and a half of just barely holding things together, everyone, including two of the four owners were laid off. (Things have sense recovered and they’re now negotiating the sale of the business)