Inconsistant powder drop - Lee Auto Disk [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Inconsistant powder drop - Lee Auto Disk

Gpruitt54
09-01-2012, 08:57
Did my firstreloads last night (30 rounds). Loading 165grain .40 S&W. However, I cannotget a consistent powder drop. I am using Hodgdon HP-38 powder. Like I said,this was my first reloads. HP-38 is the only powder I have. HP-38 is alsoclearly listed in my Lee reloading manual.

I am following the manual it is recommended to use the .43 disk opening. Butthat through way too much power. All the loads with the .43 were near, or overthe recommended max load. So, I changed to the .40 disk opening. But it is droppingjust below the starting powder load.

WTF! I don't want to load powder my hand. And I cannot change to a totallydifferent brand of equipment. I am just starting out.

What can I do to get a consistent powder charge with the above gear???
Should I fire the 30 rounds I already made???

ColoCG
09-01-2012, 09:12
Did my first reloads last night (30 rounds). Loading 165grain .40 S&W. However, I cannot get a consistant powder drop. I am using Hodgdon HP-38 powder. Like I said, this was my first reloads. HP-38 is the only powder I have. HP-38 is also clearly listed in my Lee reloading manual.

I am following the manual it is recomended to use the .43 disk opening. But that through way too much power. All the loads with the .43 were near, or over the recomended max load. So, I changed to the .40 disk opening. But is throughing just below the starting powder load.

WTF! I don't want to load powder my hand. And I cannot change to a totally different brand of equipment. I am just starting out.

What can I do to get a consistant powder charge with the above gear???
Should I fire the 30 rounds I already made???

HELP!

The list of correct discs for powder loads is not usually correct. It usually throws light charges depending on powder type.