P226: Why so expensive? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : P226: Why so expensive?

AKRover
09-01-2012, 16:19
I'm new to Sigs and I can't quite see what it is that makes the P226 worth so much more than a Glock or other similar pistol.

I was talking to a friend that used to be a cop that traded his P226 for a Dan Wesson 44 revolver. I was surprised that they were that valuable even used.

I'm getting a Sig 1911 Extreme. I know Sig makes quality firearms but what makes the P226 so much better?

klmmicro
09-01-2012, 16:31
I think one of the reasons is the collectable value of the model at present. It is supposedly the arm that killed Bin Laden and it is issued to SEAL teams. I have a friend who retired from NSW and he owns one. Looking at it, I see no real difference from any other SIG arm in terms of quality or function. Fine arm, but it is still just a 9mm semi-auto full sized pistol.

I think that the hype and mystique of the model with eventually die down. Maybe then there will be a few used ones to be found at reasonable prices, if you are so inclined as to have to have one.

glock_collector
09-02-2012, 15:10
Sig charges ya upfront to help defer warranty costs...(throw now!!!)

phalanxr
09-02-2012, 23:09
I bought a Sig p226 E2 basic model, spent $40 on an SRT trigger kit and bruce guns practical upgrade kit...

Less than $800 total, shoots as good as my TRP 1911

Snowman92D
09-02-2012, 23:43
I think one of the reasons is the collectable value of the model at present. It is supposedly the arm that killed Bin Laden and it is issued to SEAL teams.

I guess I live so far back in the woods that they gotta pipe in the sunshine, so I hadn't heard that any sort of handgun was involved. Sound pretty interesting, though. Could you fill me in, or steer me to a source where I can learn more?

DonGlock26
09-03-2012, 15:31