Shooting all over the place... [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Shooting all over the place...

Vitals
09-01-2012, 20:00
I finally put some decent rounds through my G20 SF. Underwood TMJ 180gr. I am new to shooting 10mm and what I am finding is highly inconsistent groups if you could even call them that. I am all over the target. I was hoping some of you could give me some pointers on shooting this beastly round? I need to be more accurate

Thanks

B.Reid
09-02-2012, 09:37
Stop flinching.

bustedknee
09-02-2012, 20:13
Sight picture!
Trigger control!

Now say it with me....

Sight picture!
Trigger control!

Sight picture!
Trigger control!

Sight picture!
Trigger control!

Sight picture!
Trigger control!

Say it before each shot.
Sight picture!
Trigger control!

I would win every GSSF match I entered if it wasn't for these 2 things.
Sight picture!
Trigger control!

ithaca_deerslayer
09-02-2012, 20:37
Sit at a bench, resting your gun on sandbags, to find out how accurate you can make your shots.

That will give you a reference while later standing up and shooting with no rest :)

Vitals
09-02-2012, 20:38
Sit at a bench, resting your gun on sandbags, to find out how accurate you can make your shots.

That will give you a reference while later standing up and shooting with no rest :)

Ya I've noticed some guys doing that at the range I think I'll give that a shot. Thanks guys much appreciated

Ethereal Killer
09-02-2012, 21:16
Slow down. run the basics of a slow trigger pull. Make sure your grip is correct, it should be like holding an egg firmly but not enough to break it. get your thumbs in the right place and make sure you have enough finger to reach the trigger and still have mechanical advantage. the large frame can be a bit of a challenge until you practice with it.

Try keeping your grip firm but relaxing your arms and shoulders. you will induce less tension that way and fatigue slower.

Take every shot by the steps with BRASS
breathe
relax