Safety and efficacy of reloading for Glock 17 [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Safety and efficacy of reloading for Glock 17

PaunchyP
09-04-2012, 07:34
So I've been reading in some of the other forums here on GT and have found a couple of threads regarding misfires and problems with reloads for the G17. I was pretty much sold on getting into reloading and after I read the stickys in this forum I decided on what equipment I thought I'd like to start with. However, I'm beginning to rethink this if there are safety and efficacy issues with the G17. I'm new to shooting handguns so I don't completely understand some of what was being said but one thing was that it's bad to use reloaded ammo in a Glock because it has an unsupported barrel. I think they were saying this caused problems with feeding and the seating of the round in the chamber. One guy mentioned a case where the side blew out of his brass on a reloaded round. If anyone can give me a dumbed down explanation and give me guidance on moving forward with or steering away from reloading for my 17 it would be greatly appreciated.

-Paul

Outdoor Hub mobile, the outdoor information engin

Three-Five-Seven
09-04-2012, 07:52
Most of us start reloading when the amount of shooting we do each month extends our budgets to the breaking point.

Cheap, re-manufactured ammo is available in 9mm. If your round count gets above 200 rounds per month, then perhaps reloading is a good idea. If you are a casual shooter, or not yet involved in a shooting sport, then reloading probably doesn't make sense.

New handgun shooters should always have a .22 pistol to practice with. When you've put tens of thousands of rounds through your .22, and thousands through your Glock, or become involved in a shooting sport, then you might start thinking about reloading.

I have lots of friends with expensive loading equipment that has sat idle for years. They just don't shoot enough to warrant the expense of reloading.