auto disk w/ charge bar throwing poorly [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : auto disk w/ charge bar throwing poorly

minkis18
09-23-2012, 18:42
i've been loading with Unique for 38sp for a few months now but when I tried to get my lee auto disk with the charge bar to throw 5.3gr of Unique, it instead gave me everything from 5.0-5.5gr! it's been within .1gr with every other load until now.

could my powder just be getting too humid? my house has been rather humid for the last few months. Should I just get a better powder measure? it's on a Lee Classic Turret

Note that charge spread was just within approx 30 cases charged for testing. Half of them I didn't let the press turn and the other half I did in order to see if the shaking of the turret turning had an effect, which didn't seem to be the case. I was loading 4.3gr just fine but as soon as I tired to load my next batch it got crazy.

sig357fan
09-23-2012, 23:43
been my experiance that the charge bar dosn't like anything but ball powder,

retry your disk to see if you can throw as accuratly as you have in the past.

sig357fan

WiskyT
09-24-2012, 05:59
been my experiance that the charge bar dosn't like anything but ball powder,

retry your disk to see if you can throw as accuratly as you have in the past.

sig357fan

Yup. try the 0.66cc cavity instead of that gimmicky adjustable charge bar. It was a real bad idea of Lee's. It causes all kinds of problems and then people think the measure itself is a bad design. I'm talking about people generally, not you specifically. The Autodisk is a great measure when used with the disks. Then Lee goes and puts out the adjustable unit, which defeats the purpose of the disk system in the first place, and people have problems and think the meausre is junk. It's like a touchdown called back for holding.

Kentguy
09-24-2012, 06:50
minkis18,