Ion Bond over Another Finishing [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Ion Bond over Another Finishing

zdpilot
09-25-2012, 21:04
Now go easy, i'm really new to this. Is there a way to do ion bond over another finishing? For example, i've done some research about Hard hatting and its a great metal treatment, but its not so great for scratches. On the other hand, ion bonding is great for scratches and not so much for hardening the metal. Is there anything that says you can't ion bond after hard hatting?

ProCarryNAustin
09-26-2012, 02:34
I've had Hard Hat on my STI Ranger II for over a year now and have not had any issues with scratches. This pistol is carried every day for 8-12 hours. Have not heard anything like this until now. While the "black" coating does wear some, I have not had any issues with scratches or rust. There are a few places where my pistol shows the grey underlying metal that was treated, no other issues at all.

https://severnscustom.com/Hard_Hat_Durability.html

R0CKETMAN
09-26-2012, 04:09
Now go easy, i'm really new to this. Is there a way to do ion bond over another finishing? For example, i've done some research about Hard hatting and its a great metal treatment, but its not so great for scratches. On the other hand, ion bonding is great for scratches and not so much for hardening the metal. Is there anything that says you can't ion bond after hard hatting?

You can IB over HC(see pic) and your HH research is flawed:

http://i57.photobucket.com/albums/g219/rocketmanmtb/3c12cf69.jpg

zdpilot
09-26-2012, 09:39
You can IB over HC(see pic) and your HH research is flawed:

http://i57.photobucket.com/albums/g219/rocketmanmtb/3c12cf69.jpg

Ok, in which way is it flawed? I mean is it that it isn't a metal treatment? Or is it that it isn't as scratch-proof as ion-bond? Again, just wanting to understand.

BigDeeeeeeee
09-26-2012, 11:58
Or is it that it isn't as scratch-proof as ion-bond? Melonite is a very hard scratch resistant finish.