Thinking about reloading this winter [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about reloading this winter

Dakota Carpenter
10-01-2012, 22:30
I have really been think about starting to reload but I have a few questions. First of all, I shoot mainly 9mm, is it really worth buying the equipment and supplies? I shoot roughly a thousand rounds in a around two weeks, but this winter it will slow down a lot. That's why I want to get into reloading over the long winter and save up ammo for next year. Bulk prices aren't bad but can anyone give me a ballpark as to how much I might save? I don't want to have to spend an hour on 20 rounds and shoot them in 20 seconds. Im thinking about an auto loader but roughly how many 9mm rounds can they pump out an hour? I'm completely new to reloading so any info will help.

Thanks

SARDG
10-01-2012, 23:02
I have really been think about starting to reload but I have a few questions... ... I'm completely new to reloading so any info will help.

Thanks
Did you check the Stickies at the top of 'Reloading'?

fredj338
10-02-2012, 01:27
Search &/or visit the stickies but figure @ 3K rds a month, that's 36K rds a year @ $200/1K in bulk/cheap factory = $7200! You could reload the same ammo, actually better quality ammo, for half that buying components in bulk. A top end Dillon 650 w/ case feeder & goodies will set you back, call it $1200 for one caliber. You will pay for the machine in 2m shooting that much ammo. I wouldn't even consider anything cheaper for that kind of volume.
Once you get the process down & understand what you are doing, loading 700rds/hr is pretty simple. Your first go though will be much, much slower if you are smart though, reloading is NOT just pulling the handle. Get the ABCs of Reloading & a good manual like the Lyman #49 & read them thru.

F106 Fan
10-02-2012, 01:41